13 New California Laws 2017
Laws All California Residents Need to Know to Avoid Violating Traffic Rules When Riding
Motorcycles: Lane splitting will remain legal for motorcyclists as long as it is done safely.
Child Safety Seats: Starting January 1, children under 2 years of age must ride in the back of the car, in a child-appropriate seat. Children weighing 40 pounds or more are also exempt. And in California, all children under the age of eight need to be securely secured on a child safety seat in the back seat of the vehicle.
Use of wireless electronic devices: Drivers will no longer be able to use any type of cordless phone or electronic wireless device while driving a car. Now the device must be mounted on the 7-inch square in the lower corner of the windshield farthest from the driver. The law allows a driver to operate one of these devices, only with the movement of a single swipe of the finger, but not to hold it in hand while driving.
DUI: Starting in 2019, drivers under the influence of alcohol will be required to install a vehicle ignition interlock device for a specified period of time, in order to obtain a restricted license or reinstate their license.
School Bus Safety Act: The law requires that all school buses, youth buses, buses intended for academic activities, and child care vehicles used to transport school-age children be equipped with a “child safety alert system”
Tour Bus Inspections: The new law requires the CHP to develop the protocols to initiate an increase in inspections with a memorandum of understanding.
Alcohol: Powdered alcohol is now illegal to sell, possess or make, but beauty salons can serve small amounts of wine and beer before 10pm. Prescription drugs: House Bill 1174 punishes doctors who recklessly prescribe psychiatric medications at the risk of losing their medical license.
Accident Report: The minimum amount to report property damage in a motor vehicle accident will increase to $1000.
Vehicle Registration: The vehicle registration fee for each vehicle or trailer will increase to $53 effective April 1, 2017.
Gender-neutral bathrooms: in California it was quietly decided with Assembly 1732, now all bathrooms are single-gender, this happens in almost all bathrooms located in businesses and public agencies are gender neutral.
Assault Weapons: Under the new gun control regulations, the definition of illegal assault weapons has been expanded and peal background checks are now required for the 1st time you make the purchase of ammunition and will limit the loan of weapons to family members.
Minimum wage: The state minimum wage will increase from $10 to $10.50 per hour for businesses with 26 employees or more, and that rate will move to $15 in 2022. In addition, an employer cannot pay a woman less than her male colleague because this action is considered a discriminatory act. The previous salaryThe established Assembly Act 2939 gives up to 12 weeks of parental leave, paid to all K-12 and community employees, which includes classified workers and community college teachers.
The attorneys at our law firm Abogado Contigo have been helping to obtain good compensation for victims of various accidents in the state of California since 1998.