Driving Without Accident Insurance Policy in California
What happens you get caught driving without car insurance in California?
If you are stopped by the police, you must prove that you have car insurance you must also prove that all your documents are valid like your driver’s license, for example.
If you don’t, you will most likely be given a ticket and depending on your situation, you may face extra consequences.
The types of fines and penalties for violating traffic laws in California:
If you have been detained in California without auto insurance or any other financial liability remedy, you will be fined. There are two types of fines you may face:
A fine for your first offense that gives anywhere from $100 to $200.
The second increases from $200 to $500 for each violation that occurs within 3 years of the first reprimand.
If you have been the victim of a car accident and need help resolving your case, contact experienced personal injury and car accident attorneys. Our full-time attorneys offer you a free initial consultation. Call us at 866.984.7098.
We will help you with any type of accident you have suffered, as a result of drunk driving, distracted driving, brain injury, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents, and much more.
Driving without insurance is an expensive risk, think twice before doing it.
Auto Insurance Laws in California
California law requires that you must have a way to cover expenses related to possible damages or injuries you have caused during a traffic accident. California is a state that has a dense population and also has some very dangerous roads, this is a formula to create traffic accidents and is something that you should keep in mind when driving and be very cautious to avoid having an accident.
Purchasing liability insurance is the simplest and most common way people choose to meet this requirement.
The minimum amount of liability insurance you must have on your policy is:
$15,000 for injury or death to a person.
$30,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
$5,000 for property damage.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance?
Having auto insurance is a legal requirement in California. At a minimum, drivers must have liability insurance. However, the state offers discounts and a special program for drivers who have low incomes.
By law, drivers in almost every state in the country must have at least low-income motorist coverage insurance. In case you are involved in an accident and should be responsible and compensate for damages caused to third parties.
Not only is there illegal in California and is a rather inconvenient affair because the weight of all responsibility falls on the driver’s hands and his or her pocket.
If the driver does not have money to buy insurance, they most likely do not have the financial resources to deal with a fine for an accident. Keep reading our blog to learn more about the uninsured driver.
Getting Into an Uninsured Car Accident
What if I hit someone in a car accident and I don’t have insurance?
Regarding this type of case, the civil liability system works as a backup in case of traffic accidents. If all drivers have insurance, at the time of an accident, liability insurance will indemnify: the costs of repairing damaged cars, the loss of personal property of those involved, and medical treatment and damage claims made by the people involved in the accident.
The problem is that many drivers decide to sign up for the most basic form of insurance; The minimum that state laws demand to meet the requirements and thus drive legally, but this coverage is not always enough and that’s when the problems begin.
Not to mention that many drivers become careless with their obligations and choose not to have insurance, hoping that they will never be involved in an accident and that no one will ever discover them, but no one is exempt from suffering a traffic accident, it is something unexpected that almost all drivers suffer at least once in their lives.
This also poses a big problem for people who have insurance and get involved in an accident where the other party responsible for the accident does not have insurance coverage.
Then, they are forced to make a claim to their own insurance and this brings multiple problems in the future.
For this reason, insurance companies have coverage that can be added to an extra particular auto insurance, giving you extra protection in case the driver you’ve had a collision with doesn’t have insurance; This system is considered as one of the best car insurance in the country.
Law Firm of Lawyer with you
In other words, if you include the option of uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance in your policy, if you have a collision with an uninsured or hit-and-run motorist, your insurer will reimburse you as if it were the other driver’s insurance.
Two other additional benefits of this coverage are:
It supplements the minimum limits that can be offered by the basic coverage of an insured driver, if the fault of the accident is a third party and the coverage of your insurance is not sufficient to cover the full cost of the accident.
This insurance can also provide you with certain funds needed to repair your vehicle, which can be especially beneficial for students and young beginners, as they are involved in most car accidents in California.
Many drivers reject this option because it costs an additional charge to the premium. What they don’t realize is that it’s still cheaper than paying a fine.
Learn more about what you should do after being in a car accident and protect yourself.
Driving without auto insurance in California may result in a suspension of your auto registration and driver’s license if: The CA DMV is notified of the cancellation of your insurance and does not replace it within 45 days. Your auto insurance information will be provided to DMV within 30 days of initial enrollment or transfer of ownership. If you registered your car with false evidence of insurance. DMV will send you a notice. However, you can re-register your car by submitting proof of insurance that costs $14 and request reinstatement to the DMV.